fbpx mmnews

Pakistan, South Africa play first Test in Karachi after 14 years

KARACHI: The first Test match of the Test series between Pakistan and South Africa is being played today at the National Stadium Karachi.

South Africa won the toss and elected to bat. Leading batsman Babar Azam is leading the national cricket team. He said that efforts would be made to ensure that the results of the series were in favor of Pakistan by adding that the wicket seems to be favorable for spinners.

“The players are excited to play against the opposing team,” he said. After 14 years, the South African team has landed at the National Stadium in Karachi to play a match. When South Africa visited Pakistan in 2007, they also played a Test match at the National Stadium.

Read more: ‘Confident’ Babar eyes winning start to South Africa series

The Test series trophy between the two teams was unveiled. Both the teams practiced hard at the National Stadium yesterday. Abid Ali and Imran Butt have been included in the 17-member squad announced by Pakistan as openers.

Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Fawad Alam, Fahim Ashraf, and Mohammad Nawaz are also part of the 17-member squad. Yasir Shah, Hassan Ali, and Shaheen Shah Afridi are also available for selection in the first Test. Wicketkeepers Sarfraz Ahmed and Mohammad Rizwan are also part of the 17-member squad.

Get the MMnews App now & scroll through your favourite content faster!