fbpx mmnews

LG polls: PM Imran directs to strengthen PTI’s organisational structure

The premier heads meeting of PTI’s provincial chiefs

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan on Monday directed for effective steps to further strengthen the organizational structure of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) across the country ahead of local government elections in Punjab and Kyber-Pakhtunkhwa.

The prime minister expressed these views during a meeting with Planning Minister and General Secretary PTI Asad Umar. Issues pertaining to strengthening of the organizational structure of the party all over the country were discussed during the meeting.

The meeting was also attended by PTI Khyber Pakhtunkhwa President and Minister for Defence Pervaiz Khattak, PTI Punjab President and Minister for Federal Education Shafqat Mahmood, PTI south Punjab President and Minister for Industries and Production Makhdoom Khusru Bakhtiar, PTI Sindh President and Minister for Maritime Affairs Syed Ali Haider Zaidi, PTI Balochistan President and Deputy Speaker National Assembly Muhammad Qasim Khan Suri and PTI Additional General Secretary PTI Aamir Mahmood Kiyani.

During the meeting, the prime minister also advised for activating the PTI’s workers effectively for success in the upcoming local government elections being held in the different provinces and areas.

In December 2021, Prime Minister Imran Khan named the new organisational structure for the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI), a day after dissolving all previous bodies within his party following an embarrassing defeat in the first phase of local government elections in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

The announcement of the prime minister’s decision was made by Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry through his official Twitter account. Chaudhry said Planning Minister Asad Umar had been chosen as the secretary general.

According to the provisional results of 47 of the 63 tehsils declared by the Election Commission of Pakistan, the JUI-F won 17 seats of mayor/chairperson while the PTI came in second by securing 12 seats. Independent candidates grabbed the third highest number of seats at seven, followed by Awami National Party at six, PML-N at three and Jamaat-i-Islami, PPP and Tehreek-i-Islahat Pakistan bagging one seat each.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *