fbpx mmnews

Will contest Senate elections, bypolls in Sindh: CM Murad

Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah reviewed the law and order situation. Source: FILE.

KARACHI: Chief Minister Sindh Murad Ali Shah has said the Pakistan People Party (PPP) will participate in the Senate elections and upcoming by-election.

The chief minister was speaking to reporters after arriving at Garhi Khuda Buksh to attend the 13th death anniversary of the Benazir Bhutto being held tomorrow. PPP leaders Sharjeel Memon and Taimur Talpur were also present on the occasion and paid their respects at the graves of the Bhutto family.

He said strict security arrangements have been made as leaders of the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) including PML-N Vice President Maryam Nawaz are also expected to arrive in Naudero for the event.

CM Sindh said the PPP lawmakers have submitted their resignations to Bilawal House and a decision will be taken at the appropriate time. “We will participate in the Senate and by-elections. We will never leave the field empty,” he said, adding that the PPP has never refrained from rendering sacrifices.

“These federal ministers who came from the backdoor are here to salvage their jobs. We are here to serve the people, not play cricket,” he added. He said they respect the decision of the PDM and have submitted resignation to the party chairman.

He said all arrangements have been made the death anniversary event of Benazir Bhutto including the enforcement of safety precautions and SOPs, while border areas will be monitored for security purposes.

The chief minister is the most high-profile leader to have confirmed that the PPP will contest the Senate elections despite the submission of resignations to the party leaders.

PPP has already named Ameer Ali Shah, Jam Shabbir Ali and Yousuf Baloch as candidates for the by-election on three seats in Sindh. The polling for the vacant seats will take place on February 16. Shah will contest on PS-52 Umerkot, Ali on PS-43 Sanghar and Baloch on PS-88 Malir, Karachi.

The Election Commission of Pakistan has given candidates until December 28 to file their nomination papers.  The scrutiny of the documents will be completed by January 4, and candidates will be able to challenge the decision by January 8.

The final list will be released by January 16 and election symbols will be allocated to candidates by January 17. The seats were left vacant when MPs Murtaza Baloch, Jam Madad Ali and Fazal Agha died of the coronavirus.