fbpx mmnews

PTI’s lawmakers Saif-ur-Rehman, Raja Azhar released after SC order

KARACHI: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) detained lawmakers MNA Saif-ur-Rehman and MPA Raja Azhar were released from Karachi Central Jail on Thursday after the Supreme Court order.

Both were arrested during raids conducted by Sindh police in wake of PTI’s long march towards Islamabad.

On the other hand, Police on Thursday booked PTI Sindh president Ali Zaidi, Bilal Ghaffar, Khurram Sher Zaman, and other party leaders over terrorism charges for a protest at Karachi’s Numaish Chowrangi.

Former federal minister Ali Zaidi, Khurram Sher Zaman, Bilal Ghaffar, Arslan Taj, Muhammad Ali, Jamal Siddiqui, Firdous Shamim Naqvi, Mohsin Ali, and Ashraf Ali have been nominated in a case registered under terrorism and attempt to murder charges at Soldier Bazar police station.

The case was registered on the complaint of SHO Soldier Bazar PS, Waqar Azeem. The FIR said that almost 700 PTI workers gathered at Numaish Chowrangi and blocked the road after provoking the masses.

Earlier in the day, PTI ended its sit-in at Karachi’s Numaish Chowrangi following the ultimatum from former Prime Minister Imran Khan to the government.

Imran Khan gave a six-day ultimatum to the federal government to dissolve assemblies and announce fresh elections.

Get the MMnews App now & scroll through your favourite content faster!
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *