fbpx mmnews

PCB invites 25 players for month-long high performance camp

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board will hold a month-long camp for elite cricketers who are either not featuring in the ongoing Pakistan Super League 2021 or have recently lost their places in the national side.

The camp will commence at the National High-Performance Centre in Lahore from 2 March in which the renowned coaches will work on various technical and physical aspects of the elite cricketers.

The objective of this camp is three-fold to help the elite cricketers in identifying, working and overcoming their technical flaws so that they can be back in contention for reclaiming their places in the national side. 

The camp will keep the players not participating in the PSL remain connected and involved with the game so that they are ready and prepared for the April series in South Africa and Zimbabwe. It will also reward and encourage players who have impressed in the domestic circuit so that they perform better in the next season.

World-class coaches including Atiq-uz-Zaman, Mohammad Yousuf, Mohsin Kamal, Saqlain Mushtaq, Umar Rasheed will work with these elite cricketers on a robust programme. National team coach Misbah-ul-Haq and bowling coach Waqar Younis are also expected to visit regularly and provide their inputs and feedback.

Director High Performance Centre Nadeem Khan said the camp has been designed in such a way that players who are not part of the PSL could be in contention for the April tour of South Africa and Zimbabwe.

Chairman selection committee Muhammad Wasim said they have organised this camp as part of plans to work on the technical aspects and improvement of the players dropped from the team. He said this is an excellent opportunity for these players to work on their shortcomings and will help shape plans for upcoming international cricket commitments. 

Players invited for the camp are Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Ahmad Bashir, Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Bismillah Khan, Fawad Alam, Hammad Azam, Haris Sohail, Hasan Khan, Imran Butt, Irfanullah, Kamran Ghulam, Khurram Shahzad, Mohammad Abbas, Nauman Ali, Rehan Afridi, Sajid Khan, Salman Irshad, Saud Shakeel, Tabish Khan, Taj Wali, Usman Salahuddin, Umar Khan and Yasir Shah. 

Download MM News mobile application and keep yourself updated.