fbpx mmnews

NA speaker accepts resignations of 11 PTI’s MNAs

ISLAMABAD: Speaker of National Assembly Raja Pervaiz Ashraf on Thursday accepted the resignations of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) 11 Members of National Assembly (MNAs)

According to the spokesperson of the National Assembly, the National Assembly Secretariat has issued the notification of acceptance of resignations. The spokesperson said that Raja Parvez Ashraf accepted the resignation by exercising the powers conferred under clause (1) of article 64 of the constitution.

The spokesperson further said that the notification of resignations will be sent to the Election Commission. Those whose resignations have been accepted are included: 

Ali Muhammad Khan (NA-22), Fasal Muhammad Khan (NA-24), Shaukat Ali (NA-31), Fakhr Zaman Khan (NA-45), Farrukh Habib (NA -108), Ijaz Ahmad Shah (NA-118), Jameel Ahmad Khan (NA-237), Muhammad Akram Cheema (NA-239), Abdul Shakur Shad (NA-246), Dr. Meher, Shireen Mazari (Reserved Seat), Shandana Gulzar Khan (reserved seat).


It is pertinent to mention here that after the ouster of Imran Khan, almost all PTI MNAs had submitted their resignation to the then Deputy Speaker Qasim Khan Suri.

Earlier today, The federal government had decided to accept the resignations of some PTI Members of the National Assembly (MNAs) after PDM’s chairman Maulana Fazl-ul-Rehman urged the coalition government to accept PTI’s MPs’ resignations.

It is worth mentioning that in April, PTI had decided to resign from National Assembly after former Prime Minister Imran Khan said that he would not sit in the assemblies. The then-Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly Qasim Suri approved the resignations of the PTI MNAs, but when Raja Pervaiz took the seat of Speaker he de-sealed the resignations and announced that he will accept the same only when every MNA will varify  his resignation, but PTI had denyed to do the same. 

Earlier, NA Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf summoned PTI MNAs for the verification of their resignations but no one turned up. The NA Secretariat sent letters to all PTI members who tendered resignations on April 11, 2022.

Get the MMnews App now & scroll through your favourite content faster!
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *