England announces squad for first test against Pakistan

ENGLAND: England Cricket Board (ECB) has announced players’ names for the first match of the three-test series against Pakistan scheduled to play on August 5 in Manchester.
ECB national selector Ed Smith said in a statement, “Our 14-man squad is unchanged. County cricket now restarts on Saturday, August 1. We want to have sufficient reserves inside the bio-secure test match bubble, Smith added.
He further said, “ECB may also want to give opportunities, where possible, for the reserves to play county cricket. As we seek the best balance here, England may make changes to the reserves during the three-match series against Pakistan.” The second (August 13-17) and third test (August 21-25) will be held in Southampton.
England test squad: Joe Root (captain), Ben Stokes, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, Dom Sibley, James Anderson, Jofra Archer, Dominic Bess, Stuart Broad, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes and Mark Wood.
The test series against Pakistan will also be held behind closed doors in a bio-secure bubble, even though a limited number of fans will be allowed to attend county cricket matches with social distancing guidelines in place.
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *