Another doctor dies of COVID-19 in Karachi

Policeman opens fire in Karachi’s NICVD, injures doctor

KARACHI: Senior health professional and Former Head of the ENT department at Jinnah Postgraduate Medical Centre (JPMC) Dr Usman succumbed to the novel covid-19 on Saturday.

JPMC Executive Director Dr Seemin Jamali said that Dr Usman had passed away today, adding that he was on a ventilator for the last two days at a private hospital. The death toll from the coronavirus has crossed 6,600 out of which 83 are frontline health workers. 

Earlier, the Pakistan Medical Association (PMA) had released a list of 37 doctors and three paramedics who have died of coronavirus in the country so far. The association had urged the government to support the grieving families through the Shuhada package.

According to the list, the nine doctors who died of Covid-19 in Sindh are Karachi-based gynaecologist Dr Zubaida Sattar, medical superintendent Al Khidmat Hospital Tharparkar Dr Abdul Qadir Soomro, Karachi-based radiologist Dr Furqanul Haq, former medical superintendent Malir Social Security Hospital Dr Muhammad Nawaz Gohati, an anaesthetist at Liaquat University Hospital (Jamshoro).

Dr Tahir Almani, retired medical officer of Larkana Civil Hospital Dr Zahoor Shaikh, deputy medical superintendent Khairpur Civil Hospital Dr Shafqutullah Shaikh, chief executive officer Zubaida Medical Centre in Bahadurabad (Karachi) Dr Asad Zaheer and senior medical officer in Kandhkot Dr Younus Channa.

The 18 Punjab-based doctors are Dr Ali Nazir (CMH medical college Lahore), Dr Rabia Tayyab (Holy Family Hospital Rawalpindi), Dr Akram Qureshi (former president of PMA Punjab practising as a general physician in Sialkot), Dr Ijaz Ahsan (president of College of Physicians and Surgeons of Pakistan).

Dr Sana Fatima (Lahore), Dr Salman Tahir (Lahore), psychologist Dr Naeem Akhtar (Gujranwala Social Security Hospital), associate professor Services Hospital Lahore Dr Hafiz Maqsood, PMA president Sialkot Dr Munawar Javed Mian, Dr Ghazala Shaheen (Nishtar Medical University, Multan).

Dr Salman Ali Iftikhar (Services Hospital Lahore) Dr Rahat Maqsood (former additional medical superintendent of Punjab Institute of Cardiology), Dr Tanveer Akram Bhatti (Government TB Hospital, Sargodha), Dr Asif Rao (Lahore), Dr Ejaz Khawaja (Lahore), Dr Zia-ul-Hasan (Lahore), Dr Umer Daraz (Okara) and Dr Waseem Mushtaq (Faisalabad-based dentist).

The five doctors of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa are, Dr Muhammad Javed (Hayatabad Medical College Peshawar), Dr Muhammad Azam Khan (child specialist in Nowshera), Dr Khanzada Shinwari (Peshawar), Dr Aurangzeb Khattak (pathologist at Police Services Hospital Peshawar) and Dr Phag Chand Singh (deputy medical superintendent district hospital Nowshera).

The four Balochistan-based doctors are: Dr Shah Wali (child specialist Mastung District Headquarters Hospital), Dr Naeem Agha (senior in-charge of Bolan Medical College, Quetta), Dr Muhammad Aslam Mengal (Fatima Jinnah General & Chest Hospital, Quetta) and Dr Zubair Ahmed Khan (in-charge Bolan Medical Complex Quetta Trauma Centre). Dr Usama Riaz died in Gilgit-Baltistan.

The three paramedics who fell victim to Covid-19 are Noman Ahmed (Al Khidmat Hospital in Orangi Town), Zafar Iqbal (chief technician at PIMS, Children’s Hospital, Islamabad) and nurse Arif at Jinnah Postgraduate Medical Centre, Karachi.




Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *