fbpx mmnews

No Pakistani cricketer named as ICC announces teams of decade

DUBAI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Sunday announced the ODI, T20I, and Test teams of the decade.

No player from Pakistan has been named in each of these teams. The sides are picked by the ICC’s Voting Academy of journalists and broadcasters. The teams have been selected based on performances from January 1, 2011, and October 7, 2020.

Former India captain MS Dhoni has been named the captain of both the men’s ODI and T20I Team of the Decade which also features Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma.

T20I team of the decade

Players from six countries have made it into the final team with India having the most representation in the team. Indian batsman Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma have been named in the team.

Australia’s limited-overs skipper Aaron Finch is also part of the team along with his teammate Glenn Maxwell, while South Africa has a sole representation in AB de Villiers who has been a strong part of the national team.

West Indies T20 superstars Kieron Pollard and Chris Gayle also make it to the team, along with Sri Lanka veteran quick Lasith Malinga. Bangladesh, New Zealand, England, the current world champions, and Sri Lanka all have a player each in the team.

Malinga, the highest wicket-taker in T20Is is the leader of the bowling attack.  Surprisingly, Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan and India’s Jasprit Bumrah have been named.

ODI team of the decade

India again has the most representatives in the team with Rohit, Kohli and Dhoni Australia has two representatives with David Warner and Mitchell Starc, while South Africa have AB de Villiers and Imran Tahir. Bangladesh, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and world champions England all have a player each in the team.

Test team of the decade

In the Test side of the decade, England have the most representatives in the team, with Alastair Cook, Ben Stokes, Stuart Broad, and James Anderson.

Australia’s Steve Smith, New Zealand’s Kane Williamson and former Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara are the only representations from the country. India’s Ravichandran Ashwin was selected ahead of Australia’s Nathan Lyon while South Africa’s Dale Steyn was the other specialist pacer included in the side.

ICC has also named women’s limited-overs sides, men’s and women’s associate player of the decade. The individual awards will be announced on December 28, 2020. 

ICC T20I Team of the Decade: Rohit Sharma (India), Chris Gayle (West Indies), Aaron Finch (Australia), Virat Kohli (India), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Glenn Maxwell (Australia), MS Dhoni (c and wk) (India), Kieron Pollard (West Indies), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Jasprit Bumrah (India), and Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka).

ICC ODI Team of the Decade: Rohit Sharma (India), David Warner (Australia), Virat Kohli (India), AB de Villiers (South Africa), MS Dhoni (c and wk) (India), Ben Stokes (England), Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Imran Tahir (South Africa), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka).

Test Team of the Decade: Alistair Cook (England), David Warner (Australia), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Virat Kohli (captain) (India), Steve Smith (Australia), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Ben Stokes (England), Ravi Ashwin (India), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Stuart Broad (England), James Anderson (England).

Do you want to read authentic news from Pakistan & across the world? So download MM News App Now !