fbpx mmnews

Fakhar powers Pakistan to series victory against Bangladesh

Fakhar Zaman shines again as Pakistan clinch series 2-0. (Source: AFP)

DHAKA: Left-handed Fakhar Zaman’s much-needed half-century on Saturday powered Pakistan an eight-wicket victory against Bangladesh in the second T20I to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series in Dhaka on Saturday.

Fakhar Zaman struck an unbeaten 57 off 51 balls as Pakistan reached 109-2 in 18.1 overs after restricting Bangladesh to 108-7 in 20 overs.

Najmul Hossain earlier top-scored with 40 off 34 balls for Bangladesh while Afif Hossain chipped in with 20 runs from 21 balls. Fast bowler Shaheen Afridi finished with 2-15 for Pakistan while leg-spinner Shadab Khan grabbed 2-22.

Pakistan won the first match of the series by four wickets on Friday. The third and final match will be held at the same ground on Monday.


Bangladesh: Mahmudullah Riyad (capt), Mohammad Naim, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed

Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam (capt), Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Nawaz, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Wasim Jr


Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *