fbpx mmnews

Third T20I: Pakistan win toss, decide to field first

CENTURION: In the third fixture of the four-match T20I series, Pakistan won the toss and decided to field first against South Africa at Supersport Park in Centurion on Wednesday.

In the ongoing T20I series, Pakistan and South Africa will be hoping to trounce each other in today’s game, with each side hoping to secure a 2-1 lead.

The action for the last two T20Is will move to Supersport Park in Centurion after the first two games of the series were played at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

Both sides are using the series as preparation for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup that will be played in India later this year.

Earlier, South Africa beat Pakistan by six wickets after comprehensively chasing the 140-run target set by Pakistan in the last game on April 12.

South Africa’s Aiden Markram hit 54 runs off 30 balls, skipper Heinrich Klaasen scored 36, and George Linde scored 20 runs, helping the Proteas level the series 1-1.

Pakistan reached a measly 140 for 9, courtesy Babar Azam’s 50 off 50 balls and Mohammad Hafeez’s 32 off 23. However, the rest of the batting lineup failed to produce many runs.

George Linde did the big damage in the Powerplay before Lizaad Williams, Sisanda Magala, and Tabraiz Shamsi joined in later on.


South Africa: Heinrich Klaasen (captain, wicketkeeper), Daryn Dupavillon, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Wihan Lubbe, Sisanda Magala, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Migael Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Pite van Biljon, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Arshad Iqbal, Asif Ali, Danish Aziz, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Wasim, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sharjeel Khan, Usman Qadir, Zahid Mahmood

Download MM News mobile application and keep yourself updated.