fbpx mmnews

Squads announced for Quaid-e-Azam Trophy

The tournament begins at three Punjab venues from Oct 20. Source: FILE.

LAHORE: After the conclusion of the National T20 Tournament, the squads for Pakistan’s premier first-class tournament Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2021-22 have been announced.

The management of the six Cricket Association sides have finalised their squads for Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2021-22 which begins at three Punjab venues from Wednesday, 20 October.

Imran Butt, Azhar Ai, Iftikhar Ahmed, Nauman Ali, Fawad Alam and Mohammad Abbas will lead Balochistan, Central Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Northern, Sindh and Southern Punjab in the three-month-long tournament in which each team will play the other twice in the 10-round group stage.

READ MORE: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa beats Central Punjab to win National T20 Cup

The first five rounds will be played at the Gaddafi Stadium Lahore, Iqbal Stadium Faisalabad and Multan Cricket Stadium, while the last five rounds and the final will be played in Karachi with UBL Sports Complex, SBP Sports Complex and NBP Sports Complex staging the round matches.

National Stadium will host the five-day final that will be played between 25 to 29 December. The previous edition of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy edition produced some thrilling cricket with the final, which was also played at the National Stadium, turning into a historic tie between Central Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.