fbpx mmnews

Sindh govt announces Rs40m scholarships for university students


KARACHI: Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah has announced scholarships worth Rs40 million to be awarded to students of public and private sector universities.

The chief minister made the announcement while presiding over a meeting of Sindh Higher Education Commission (HEC) and vice-chancellors of public sector universities. The provincial Higher Education Commission (HEC) has completed data collection to award scholarships to deserving students.

The scholarships of Rs 40 million will be awarded on merit-cum-need basis for the students of BS/MS/M.Phil/Ph.D of public sector universities and for the students of MS/M.Phil/Ph.D of private sector universities, according to HEC.

The chief minister also distributed Rs 25 million among five public sector universities of rural areas, Rs5 million each for establishment of IT labs.

These universities include Shaikh Ayaz University, Shikarpur, Begum Nusrat Bhutto Women University, Sukkur, Benazir Bhutto Shaheed University of Technology and Skill Development, Khairpur, Government College University, Hyderabad and Benazir Bhutto Shaheed University Lyari, Karachi.

He also distributed cheques worth Rs 45.7 million for 26 research projects of faculty members of the universities.

These projects belonged to the University of Sindh Jamshoro, University of Karachi, NED University, Karachi, Mehran University Jamshoro, Dow University, Liaquat Medical University, Jamshoro, Shah Abdul Latif University, Khairpur, and Sukkur IBA University. 

The Sindh HEC has initiated the program to provide funding to establish ‘smart classrooms’ in all public sector universities of Sindh. Speaking to the participants, the chief minister said that smart class in a university is an innovative concept in education. In this environment e-learning and online education was the need of this time.

Chairman HEC Dr Asim Hussain told the chief minister and added in the first phase, the commission has approved funding to seven newly established/underdeveloped universities.