fbpx mmnews

PTI moves IHC against acceptance of 11 MNAs’ resignations

IHC dismisses PTI’s plea seeking suspension of by-elections on 9 NA seats

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Secretary General Asad Umar on Monday filed a petition, on his part behalf, in the Islamabad High Court (IHC) against the acceptance of the party 11 MNAs’ resignations by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

“A petition has been submitted in the Islamabad High Court against the election commission accepting the resignations of 11 members of the assembly of their choice,” the PTI leader said on Twitter.

“All members of the Tehreek-e-Insaf resigned in front of the entire country. All resignations should be accepted at the same time,” he stated.

Earlier, speaking to media outside IHC, the PTI leader stated, that they have approached the court against acceptance of the resignations of 11 members. They accused the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) of becoming a part of the PDM alliance.

“On April 11, 125 of our people resigned on the floor of the assembly, and on April 13, Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri accepted the resignation,” Umar said.

He claimed that party members resigned as a result of the alleged foreign interference that led to the ouster of their party’s government at the center.

Umar went on to say that the youth of social media should suggest a party symbol for the ECP as it has become a part of PDM.

The PTI leader accused ECP of engaging in “illegal activity” and stated that the PTI refused to be a part of this conspiracy and thus resigned and that the ECP accepted 11 resignations of its choice last week.

Last week, the ECP denotified 11 PTI MNAs following the approval of their resignations by NA Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf.

According to ECP, Ali Muhammad Khan, Fazal Muhammad Khan, Shaukat Ali, Fakhar Zaman Khan, Farrukh Habib, Ijaz Ahmad Shah, Jamil Ahmed Khan, Muhammad Akram Cheema, Abdul Shakoor Shad, Shireen Mehrunnisa Mazari, Shandana Gulzar Khan have been de-notified. 

The action was taken after Speaker Ashraf accepted 11 resignations of PTI members under Article 64(1) of the Constitution of Pakistan.

Get the MMnews App now & scroll through your favourite content faster!
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *