Pakistan decides to bat first New Zealand T20I

Follow Us on Google News

AUCKLAND: In the first match of the three-match T20 series between Pakistan and New Zealand, Pakistan has decided to bat first after winning the toss.

Captain Babar Azam is not part of the series due to injury. However, a 15-member squad of the national team under the captaincy of Shadab has been announced for the match.

Shadab Khan, in this regard, said, “Looks a very good pitch. We want to put a score [on the board]. Proud moment for me and my family. We’ll miss Babar but it’s a good opportunity for the rest to step up. We are looking forward to it. We hae prepared well and now it’s showtime”

New Zealand’s Mitchell Santner said, “Looks like a good wicket. We’re pretty happy to bowl. Another great opportunity to lead the side. Jacob Duffy makes his debut. Todd Astle and Doug Bracewell miss out. Every time you represent your country, it’s a big deal, and he’ll take the challenge on. Pakistan are a quality side, with pace and spin and quality in the batting. We’re ready for them.”

Read more: Babar Azam ruled out of New Zealand T20 series

Sarfraz Ahmed is part of the squad, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Hafeez, and Wahab Riaz are also on the team. Abdullah Shafiq, Haider Ali, Fahim Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Emad Wasim, and Khushdal Shah have been made part of the squad.

Muhammad Hasnain, Shaheen Afridi, and Hussain Talat are also in the 15-member squad. Musa Khan and Usman Qadir are not part of the squad but will be with the team.

Related Stories

Next Post