fbpx mmnews

Pakistan announces 17-member squad for first Test against South Africa

KARACHI: Pakistan Cricket Board has confirmed a 17-player squad who will be available for selection for the first Test against South Africa starting on Tuesday.

The remaining three players – Salman Ali, Kamran Ghulam, and Abdullah Shafique – will continue to be part of the squad and will feature in warm-up and training sessions at the National Stadium.

The playing line-up with now be finalised by the captain in consultation with the head coach. Pakistan and South Africa are scheduled to play two Tests in Karachi and Rawalpindi from January 26.

The 17-player squad includes:

Openers – Abid Ali (Central Punjab) and Imran Butt (Balochistan)

Middle-order batsmen – Azhar Ali, Babar Azam (captain), Fawad Alam and Saud Shakeel.

All-rounders – Faheem Ashraf and Mohammad Nawaz.

Wicketkeepers – Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain) and Sarfaraz Ahmed.

Spinners – Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, and Yasir Shah

Fast bowlers – Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Tabish Khan.