Mufti Muneeb, others to be placed under ATA’s Fourth Schedule

KARACHI: Several prominent religious scholars including Mufti Muneeb-ur-Rehman are expected to the place in Fourth Schedule of the Anti-Terrorism Act (ATA) for expressing support with the outlawed Tehreek-e-Labaik Pakistan (TLP).

Sources informed that the efforts are underway to include the names of former Ruet-e-Hilal Committee chairman Mufti Muneeb-ur-Rehman and others clerics in the Fourth Schedule of the ATA.

The list comprising names of religious scholars, Mufti Muneeb-ur-Rehman, Haji Rafique Pardesi, Ghulam Ghaus Baghdadi, Maulana Rehan, Amjad Noomani, Ali Muhammad Aslam, Aamir Chootaani and others.

Sources informed that details have been sought from the police stations of Karachi’s district east for the placement of the in the fourth schedule. The documents are being compiled by the police and would be sent to the Counter-Terrorism Department (CTD).

The Fourth Schedule is a list of proscribed individuals who are suspected of terrorism and/or sectarianism under the Anti-Terrorism Act (ATA), 1997.

After receiving intelligence information, the names of individuals are included in the list as prescribed by the Home Department and can be subjected to restrictions on travel, speech and business.

The names are referred to the local police and law-enforcement agencies for effective monitoring. If a Fourth Scheduler wants to move somewhere, he has to inform the nearby police station.

Tanzimat Ahl-e-Sunnat leader Mufti Muneeb-ur-Rehman has issued a call for a nationwide shutter down strike in solidarity with the TLP which lead to violent protests in the country.

Addressing a hurriedly press conference Darul Uloom-e-Amjadia along with other Ulema, Mufti Muneeb-ur-Rehman had announced a nationwide shutter down strike against the Lahore incident when police dispersed a gathering of TLP activists.