fbpx mmnews

Govt to impose ‘smart-lockdown’ in major cities from today

ISLAMABAD: The government will impose a ‘smart-lockdown’ in major cities across the country to curb the spread of the coronavirus from today.
The move came after the National Command and Operation Centre (NCOC) issued a list of 20 cities that were identified as COVID-19 hotspots across the country. As per the list, parts of Islamabad, Lahore, and Peshawar have been sealed. These selected areas will go under lockdown from midnight tonight.
Moreover, areas identified in Swat include Bahrain, Matta, Babuzai, Kabal, Barikot, Khariri, Gwalerai, and Odigram. Other districts include UC Qambar, Saeedoshareef, Breekot Gharbi, Quetta Sharki, Kozabandi, and Madin as more than 489 people have been infected in these areas.
Four areas have been sealed and section 188 imposed after it was identified as one of the areas in  Sindh’s Ghotki. The number of confirmed coronavirus cases has surged to 148,921 in Pakistan, while the death toll stands at 2,839.
Pakistan has recorded more than 111 coronavirus deaths over the past 24 hours, the highest single-day rise since the outbreak. More than 4,443 cases of coronavirus were reported in the last 24 hours.
The most affected province due to the COVID-19 pandemic is Sindh with 55,581 cases. As per data, around 111 people succumbed to the disease in the last 24 hours. As many as 56,390 patients have recovered from the disease, while the country is still witnessing a consistent rise in the COVID-19 cases.
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *