fbpx mmnews

Army Chief to brief Parliamentary committee on national security

Chief of Army Staff General Qamar Javed Bajwa. Source: FILE

ISLAMABAD: Chief of Army Staff General Qamar Javed Bajwa is expected to brief the Parliamentary Committee on National Security on 1st July.

The top military brass will brief the committee on developments with regard to Afghanistan and national security issued on July 1 at the Parliament House.

Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Qamar Javaid Bajwa, DG ISI Lieutenant General Faiz Hameed and other higher officials are expected to attend the session. National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaisar is chairman of the committee.

Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly Shehbaz Sharif, Leader of the Opposition in the Senate Senator Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, JUI-F leader Asad Mahmood, BNP leader Sardar Akhtar Mengal and ANP leader Ameer Haider Hoti are among the members invited for the meeting.

The meeting will include discussion on the ongoing situation in Kashmir and Afghanistan, issues related to national security, while the US demand for air bases and regional issues will also be reviewed.

The briefing will be in closed doors and committee will have a question-answer session. This would be the first meeting of the committee in eight months since the opposition boycotted the last meeting in November.

Opposition leaders have not confirmed whether to attend the briefing or not. It is unlikely that Prime Minister Imran Khan would turn up for the meeting since he is not a member of the committee.

Other members of the committee are Ms. Sherry Rehman (PPP), Mushtaq Ahmad (JI), Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah (GDA), Syed Faisal Ali Sabazwari (MQM), Senator Hidayat ullah (Ind), Sardar Muhammad Shafiq Tarin (PkMAP), Muhammad Tahir Bizenjo (NP), Muhammad Qasim (BNP), Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haidri (JUI), Kamil Ali Agha (PML-Q), Dr. Shehzad Wasim (PTI), Dilawar Khan (Ind), Azam Nazir Tarrar (PML-N) and Anwar ul Haq Kakar (Ind) members from Senate while the other members from the NA are Makhdoom Shah Mahmood Qureshi (PTI), Chaudhary Tariq Bashir Cheema (PML-Q), Ghaus Bux Mehar (GDA), Dr. Khalid Maqbool Siddiquee (MQM), Nawabzada Shahzain Bugti (JWP), Khalid Hussain Magsi (BAP), Sheikh Rashid Ahmad (AML).