fbpx mmnews

Pakistan announces squad for first ODI against New Zealand

Pakistan announced 12-player squad for 1st ODI against New Zealand. Source: AFP/Cricinfo.

LAHORE: Pakistan have announced their 12-player squad for the first One-Day International against New Zealand.

The match will be played at the Pindi Cricket Stadium on Friday 16 September. The match will start at 02:30PM local time.

The second and third ODIs will be played at the Pindi Cricket Stadium on 19 and 21 September, respectively while Gaddafi Stadium will host the T20Is from 25 September to 3 October.

Both the teams have been practicing at the venue ahead of the series, which will not be part of the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) Cricket World Cup Super League due to un availability of the decision review system (DRS).

New Zealand are without several top players who are instead heading to the UAE for the Indian Premier League including captain Kane Williamson, and pace bowling trio Trent Boult, Tim Southee and Kyle Jamieson.

Pakistan captain Babar Azam has not vowed not to take his opponents lightly. “It would have been nicer had their best team come, but whatever the composition of their team we will play to our best and win the series.”

Pakistan Squad

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakil, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir, and Zahid Mahmood.