fbpx mmnews

Babar vs Shaheen: Will a fierce battle unfold in PSL 7?

Babar Azam and Shaheen Afridi will be the captains of both the teams. (Photo Online)

Lahore and Karachi are considered old rivals in Pakistan cricket but HBL Pakistan Super League has added immensely to its appeal. This time the focus of this traditional rivalry will be on the captains of both teams.

The match between Babar Azam and Shaheen Shah Afridi, two famous stars of T20 cricket, is like a real battle of bat and ball for the cricket fans.

The event, which will be played from 27th January 27th February, is expected to see the largest number of cricket fans waiting for the match between Karachi Kings captain and opening batsman Babar Azam and Lahore Qalandars captain and strike bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Babar Azam is also the captain of the national cricket team and Shaheen Shah Afridi is the leading bowler of the bowling attack. Both of these players played a key role in Pakistan’s record 20 victories in T20 International cricket in Calendar Year 2021.

Babar Azam scored 1779 runs in T20 cricket last year. He has scored 7471 runs in T20 cricket so far. He has also scored 18 half-centuries and 2 centuries in this style of cricket.

On the other hand, Shaheen Shah Afridi took 50 T20 wickets last year. Apart from him, only three bowlers were able to do this feat last year. They took 51 wickets at an average of 21 in Calendar Year 2021.

The two players have met seven times before in the HBL PSL. In these 7 matches, Shaheen Shah Afridi’s 46 balls Babar Azam has been dismissed only once and scored 73 runs, including 12 fours.

The two are expected to meet in the powerplay and both boast extraordinary records in the first six overs in an innings in HBL PSL. Shaheen’s economy of 6.66 is the best amongst the pacers with at least 10 wickets and Babar averages a staggering 77.42.

The two teams will compete in HBL’s PSL 7 on 30th January at National Stadium Karachi and on February 18 at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore. In the 13 matches played so far, Lahore Qalandars have won only five.

Captain of Karachi Kings, Babar Azam:

Karachi Kings captain Babar Azam said that HBL’s PSL has played an extraordinary role in the development of national players. Competitive cricket played in the HBL PSL has given a boost to their own game.

Babar Azam said that it is not easy for any batsman to face Shaheen Shah Afridi as he has the potential to create difficulties for the batsman with his fast bowling. He has a passion for learning and his significant improvement is evident.

He added that he was looking forward to facing Shaheen Shah Afridi. Hopefully, cricket fans will get to see an interesting and thrilling match.

Captain of Lahore Qalandars, Shaheen Shah Afridi:

Lahore Qalandars captain Shaheen Shah Afridi says that HBL PSL is a launching pad for many fast bowlers including him. The competitive cricket played here helps in the preparation of international cricket.

He said that his performance in guiding five players to the pavilion for four runs against Multan Sultans in an HBL PSL match played in Dubai gave him confidence.

Shaheen Shah Afridi said that Babar Azam is a talented batsman and because of his strong technique, bowling him is no less than a test. He always throws the ball outside the boundary line and destroys the bowler’s plan.

He hopes that his Babar Azam match will be an interesting match for the people of Lahore and Karachi, which he will enjoy.

Karachi Kings

Babar Azam (c), Amir Yamin, Chris Jordan, Faisal Akram, Imad Wasim, Joe Clarke, Jordan Thompson, Lewis Gregory, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Nabi, Muhammad Imran, Qasim Akram/Mohammad Taha, Rohail Nazir, Romario Shepherd, Sahibzada Farhan, Sharjeel Khan, Talha Ahsan, Tom Abell/Ian Cockbain and Umaid Asif

Lahore Qalandars

Shaheen Shah Afridi (c), Abdullah Shafiq, Ahmed Daniyal, Akif Javed, Dawid Wiese, Dean Foxcroft, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Harry Brook, Imran Randhawa, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hafeez, Maaz Khan, Phil Salt/Ben Dunk, Rashid Khan, Samit Patel, Sohail Akhtar, Syed Faridoun, Zaman Khan and Zeeshan Ashraf

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *