fbpx mmnews

Shaukat Tareen, Shibli Faraz sworn in as federal ministers

ISLAMABAD: Shibli Faraz and Shaukat Tareen on Saturday took oaths at the President House Islamabad following Prime Minister Imran Khan’s cabinet reshuffle.

During the oath-taking ceremony, President Dr. Arif Alvi administered oath to PTI Senators Shibli Faraz and Shaukat Tareen.

Earlier, PM Imran reshuffled his cabinet changing the portfolios of his government’s key ministers and appointing Shaukat Fayaz Tareen as a new Minister for Finance and Revenue in place of Hammad Azhar.

It is worth mentioning here that Shaukat Tareen does not hold any post at present but through a special ordinance by Prime Minister Imran Khan, he has been made the Federal Minister of Finance for six months.

Tareen served as finance minister from 2009 to 2010. Tareen has replaced federal minister Hammad Azhar, who was appointed as the country’s finance minister a few weeks ago when the prime minister replaced him with Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh. 

The government had given Hammad Azhar the additional charge of the federal ministry. He has now been appointed as Ministry of Energy. The Energy portfolio has been withdrawn from Omar Ayub who has been appointed as Minister for Economic Affairs Division.

Khusro Bakhtiar has been appointed the Minister for Industries and Production. Shibli Faraz has been appointed the Minister for Science and Technology. Fawad Chaudhry has been appointed the Minister for Information and Broadcasting.