MM News
Monday 20th March 2023 / 27 Syaaban 1444

PCB Awards 2020: Babar Azam named Cricketer of the Year

Babar Azam is now placed on 11th position. Source: PCB/Cricinfo

Babar Azam is now placed on 11th position. Source: PCB/Cricinfo

KARACHI: Pakistan captain Babar Azam bagged the White-ball Cricketer of the Year award for his impressive performances at the PCB Awards 2020.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) unveiled nominations for at least 12 awards and including ten individual categories and has announced the winners through their digital platforms.

Babar scored 221 ODI runs at an average of 110.5 and 267 T20I runs at an average of 55.2. He has also been awarded the Most Valuable Player of the year. 

Mohammad Rizwan is the Test Cricketer of the Year. He scored 320 runs with an average of 43, and also claimed 12 dimissal behind the stumps. Teenage bowling Naseem Shah has been named as Men’s Emerging International Cricketer of the Year  

Rookie wicketkeeper-batsman Rohail Nazir, who led Pakistan in U19 World earlier this year in South Africa, has bagged the award for Men’s Emerging Domestic Cricketer of the Year.

Fawad Alam won the Individual Performance of the year award for his 102 in the second innings of the first Test between Pakistan and New Zealand at Mount Maunganui.

Kamran Ghulam, who is representing Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2020-21, won the domestic cricketer of the year award. Asif Yaqoob won the award for PCB Umpire of the Year.

The Spirit of Cricket award went to Pakistan team for visiting Bangladesh’s team dressing room after their 2-0 win in the T20I series. The award for the Corporate Achievement of the Year went to the successful staging of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season five in Pakistan.

Fatima Sana bagged the award for the Women’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year while Aliya Riaz claimed the Women’s Cricketer of the Year award.

Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez and fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi were shortlisted in three categories each, while Haris Rauf, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah and Shan Masood have been nominated in two categories each.

The nominations were shortlisted by an independent jury, comprising of highly respected and distinguished cricket personalities. The jury did not limit itself to just player performances but also took into account various other factors, such as the opponent, impact, value and contribution of the players in the matches and/or during the period under consideration.


Do you want to read authentic news from Pakistan & across the world? So download MM News App Now !
Back to top
Exit mobile version