Pakistan announces 16-member squad for Sri Lanka series

LAHORE: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced a 16-member squad for one-day matches series against Sri Lanka.
According to the press release of PCB, the series will take place in Karachi from 27 September to 2 October.
The squad for the three T20Is against Sri Lanka in Lahore will be announced during the one-day series. Until then, the other players in the probable camp will continue to train at the NCA.
Also read: PCB invites 12 upcoming cricketers at NCA
Announcing the squad, head coach and chief selector, Misbah-ul-Haq said that after thorough discussions with the members of the selection committee and meticulous planning, he feels they have put together the best squad.
Misbah further said, “After thorough discussions with the members of the selection committee and meticulous planning, I feel we have put together the best possible squad.
“These are the only 50-over matches we play this season and we want to make their optimum use. Throughout my cricketing career, I have realised there are no easy games and there are no easy opponents in cricket.”
Misbah stated further that this is a perfect opportunity all to prove their mettle in international cricket and cement their place in the one-day side.
He added that Muhammad Nawaz, Abid Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Muhammad Rizwan, and Usman Shinwari  are also part of the team
Hassan Ali has not been made part of the team due to his back injury. Shoaib Malik has retired from the ODI cricket while Muhammad Hafeez has been given No-Objection Case (NOC) to play Carribean league.

ODI Squad 

  1. Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain) 
  2. Babar Azam (vice-captain) 
  3. Abid Ali
  4. Asif Ali 
  5. Fakhar Zaman
  6. Haris Sohail 
  7. Iftikhar Ahmed 
  8. Imad Wasim 
  9. Imam-ul-Haq 
  10. Mohammad Amir 
  11. Mohammad Hasnain
  12. Mohammad Nawaz 
  13. Mohammad Rizwan
  14. Shadab Khan
  15. Usman Shinwari 
  16. Wahab Riaz 

Series schedule:

27 Sep – 1st ODI, National Stadium, Karachi

29 Sep – 2nd ODI, National Stadium, Karachi

2 Oct – 3rd ODI, National Stadium, Karachi

5 Oct – 1st T20I, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

7 Oct – 2nd T20I, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

9 Oct – 3rd T20I, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

Download MM News mobile application and keep yourself updated.
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *