MM News TV
Saturday 23rd October 2021 / 17 Rabiulawal 1443

Pakistan Cup Women’s One-Day Tournament to kick off on September 9

The four-team event will be played at National Stadium. (Source: PCB)

The four-team event will be played at National Stadium. (Source: PCB)

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cup Women’s One-Day tournament is set to be held in Karachi from September 9, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced on Sunday.

The tournament, which will kick-start the 2021-22 women’s domestic and international cricket season, will feature a total of four-teams that will compete with each other in 14 matches on double-league basis.

All matches will be played at the National Stadium with the final set to be a day-night affair. The four teams, which will be led by Pakistan’s top international players, are:

“With the women’s player pool continuing to increase gradually, the PCB has included Strikers for the upcoming season, a move that is aimed to provide more opportunities for upcoming players to prove their mettle in domestic competitions,” it read.

The induction of the fourth team has also doubled the total number of the 50-over tournament matches from seven in previous years to 14 this year.

On each of the seven playing days, two matches will be played simultaneously at the main National Stadium ground and the Oval Academy Ground, which is a part of the Hanif Mohammad High-Performance Centre located inside the National Stadium arena.

On the seventh and last match-day, a third position play-off will be also be played, the match like the rest of the games will start at 10am while the final will be played from 2:00pm, both these matches will be played on September 21.

The four squads will assemble in Karachi on Sunday and after clearing their Covid tests. The tournament will be live-streamed. “The details along with the prize money will be shared in the coming week,” the press release read.


Blasters: Sidra Nawaz (captain and wicketkeeper), Aisha Javed, Arijah Haseeb, Bibi Nahida, Fajar Naveed, Fatima Sana Khan, Gull Firoza, Momina Riasat, Nida Rashid, Noreen Yaqoob, Omaima Sohail, Saima Malik, Shawal Zulfiqar and Syeda Aroob Shah

Challengers: Javeria Khan (captain), Anoosha Nasir, Diana Baig, Dua Majid, Fareeha Mehmood, Gull Rukh, Iram Javed, Khadija Chishty, Najiha Alvi (wicketkeeper), Nazish Rafique, Saba Nazir, Sidra Amin, Syeda Masooma Zehra Fatima and Waheeda Akhtar.

Dynamites: Muneeba Ali Siddiqui (captain), Aliya Riaz, Fatima Zahra, Ghulam Fatima, Humna Bilal, Huraina Sajjad, Kaynat Hafeez, Maham Tariq, Nashra Sundhu, Neha Shermeen, Rida Aslam, Sadaf Shamas, Soha Fatima (wicketkeeper) and Syeda Insharah Asad 

Strikers: Kainat Imtiaz (captain), Aima Saleem Satti, Ayesha Naseem, Ayesha Zafar, Bisma Amjad, Fatima Khan, Gul Uswa, Hafsa Khalid, Jaweria Rauf, Natalia Parvaiz, Umme Hani, Syeda Asma Amin (wicketkeeper), Tuba Hassan and Yusra Amir (wicketkeeper).                             

Back to top
Exit mobile version