fbpx mmnews

NA-240 by-polls: TLP leads as MQM-P trail behind

KARACHI:  As per unofficial and incomplete results Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan(TLP) is leading the by-poll  in Karachi’s NA-240, while MQM-Pakistan in on 2nd and  MQM-Haqeegi is on 3rd position.

TLP’s Shahzada Shehbaz is leading with 10,272 votes, followed by MQM-P’s Muhammad Abubakr who with 10,261 votes. MQM-Haqeeqi’s candidate Syed Rafiuddin is at third position with 8,233 votes. PPP’s Nasir Raheem and PSP’s Shabir Qaimkhani are at fourth and fifth positions with 4,936 and 4,541 votes respectively.

The vote count has been underway since the polling stopped at 5pm. There are 303 polling stations in the constituency.

Voting for by-election in Karachi’s NA-240 Korangi-2 began Thursday morning which continued till 5pm without any break.

The seat had fallen vacant after the death of MNA Iqbal Muhammad Ali on April 19. He was elected from NA-240 on MQM-Pakistan’s ticket in 2018 general elections.

There are a total of 529,855 registered voters in the constituency, including 2,94,385 male and 2,35,470 female voters.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *