MM News TV
Monday 3rd October 2022 / 7 Rabiulawal 1444

Maryam Nawaz demands ECP to withhold NA-249 by-poll result

maryam nawaz

LAHORE: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) vice president Maryam Nawaz has claimed that the NA-249 by-election in Karachi was stolen from them after final results showed PPP’s Qadir Khan Mandokhail winning the election by a margin of just 683 votes.

On a social media website Twitter, Maryam Nawaz said that the election stolen from PML-N by only a few hundred votes. She said, “ECP must withhold the results of one of the most disputed & controversial elections.

Even if it doesn’t, this victory will be temporary and will Insha’Allah come back to PMLN soon,” Maryam added. “The vote is getting respect and it will get it Inshallah,” the PML-N vice president said.

Later, PML-N leader and former PM Nawaz Sharif’s spokesperson said the party would challenge the election results and added that the results of 80 polling stations were changed. “We have requested the Election Commission of Pakistan in this regard,” Mohammad Zubair  added.

He said, “In 2018, PTI won 14 NA seats from Karachi while its partner MQM 6 seats. Today one is coming in 5th place while other in 6th place – last and second last”.

“Take away 20 seats of Karachi and it becomes clear how PTI formed the government. People have spoken. Ok should step down,” Mohammad Zubair  added.

PPP’s Abdul Qadir Mandokhel bagged 16,156 votes to win the seat, followed by PML-N’s Miftah Ismail who secured 15,473, unofficial results from polling stations showed. While Nazir Ahmed of outlawed TLP trailed on the third position by receiving 11,125 votes.

PSP’s Mustafa Kamal could acquire only 9,227 votes, followed by PTI’s Amjad Afridi with 8,922 votes and MQM-P’s Muhammed Mursaleen with 7,511 votes.

Voter turnout, despite strict security arrangements, was reported to be low in the morning and afternoon hours, perhaps due to Ramadan and the scorching heat. The by-election of NA-249 has become a matter of survival for many parties.

Since 1988, the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has won this constituency once, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) twice, while both Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and PTI have also won the seat only once.

Around 276 polling stations comprising 796 polling booths — 458 for male and 338 for female voters — were set up for the by-election. The constituency has a total of 201,656 male and 137,935 female among the total 339,591 registered voters.

Do you want to read authentic news from Pakistan & across the world? So download MM News App Now !
Back to top
Exit mobile version