Malaysia bans travelers from 23 countries including Pakistan

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia has banned travelers from 23 countries including Pakistan to curb the spread of coronavirus.

Malaysia’s immigration department has restricted the entry of “Long Term Visit Pass Holders” from the 23 countries as they had reported over 150,000 COVID-19 cases.

Apart from Pakistan, the other countries included in the ban are India, USA, Brazil, Russia, Peru, Colombia, South Africa, Mexico, Spain, Argentina, Chile, Iran, United Kingdom, Bangladesh, Saudi Arabia, France, Turkey, Italy, Germany, Iraq, Philippines, and Indonesia.

Malaysian health authorities reported 62 new coronavirus cases, the sharpest spike since early June, just as the government began barring long-term immigration pass holders from countries with high infection numbers. 

Read more: Japan donates machinery, equipment to Islamabad municipality

The others were detected in a new cluster in the northern state of Kedah and six arrivals from Turkey, Bangladesh, Indonesia, and Egypt, the ministry said in a statement.

Monday’s new infections were the largest since 4th June, when 277 cases and one death were reported. The country currently has 9,459 confirmed coronavirus infections, of which 128 led to deaths. 

The number of coronavirus infection cases across the world has surged to 27,489,198 and the pandemic has so far claimed over 896,867 lives. So far, 19,590,272 patients have been cured worldwide and the number of active cases is now more than 7,002,059.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *