MM News
Friday 29th September 2023 / 14 Rabiulawal 1445

Babar Azam becomes 5th Pakistani captain to win debut Test series

KARACHI: Cricketer Babar Azam became the fifth Pakistani captain to win his debut Test series.

Before Babar Azam, Saleem Malik, Javed Miandad, Mushtaq Mohammad, and Fazal Mahmood also won their debut Test series as captains. It may be recalled that Pakistan defeated South Africa by 95 runs in the second Test to win the two-match series.

In the match played at Rawalpindi Stadium, the national team defeated South Africa due to the bowling of Hassan Ali and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

For the first time in the history of Test cricket, Pakistan defeated South Africa in a whitewash and for the second time in a Test series. Earlier in 2003, Pakistan had beaten South Africa 1-0 in a Test series.

Read more: Babar Azam drops to sixth place in ICC Test rankings

South African batsman Markram and Van der Dawson started the innings at the start of the match today. The visitors’ two wickets soon fell when Vander Dawson (48) and Duplessis (5) hit Hassan Ali.

At one point it looked like South Africa would win the match easily, with national team captain Babar Azam picking up the new ball and Shaheen Shah Afridi giving Hassan Ali a chance to bowl. On the crease, Hassan Ali dismissed the set batsman Markram 108 and Captain Quinton De Cock.  

Download MM News mobile application and keep yourself updated.
Back to top
Exit mobile version